Chapter 3: Self-Discipline & Responsibility

“The individual who wants to reach the top in business must appreciate the might and force of habit. He must be quick to break those habits that can break him-and hasten to adopt those practices that will become the habits that help him achieve the success he desires.

-J. Paul Getty

1. Resolve today to accept 100 percent responsibility for everything you are and for everything you become. Never complain, never explain.

That would help me to overall become a more responsible person.

2. Look into your past and select a person or incident that still makes you unhappy today. Instead of justifying your negative feelings, look for reasons why you were partially responsible for what happened.

There was a time when I was supposed to pick up a certain person but I was unable to due to my car needing to be serviced. I however had my designated driver come back to get the person but they were not there. I was upset because I was not contacted to be notified that they were already gone. So I made the driver waste their time and gas to do me a favor but if I had made my plans fully aware and fully known at an appropriate time before hand, there wouldn’t have been any confusion and the quarreling afterwards could have been avoided.

3. Select a relationship in your past that made you unhappy, and then give three reasons why you were partially responsible for what happened.

Don’t really have any relationships that made me unhappy but I have been bullied before and I’m not sure how I am to blame. I was just being myself but I guess myself was not appealing to those certain people.

4. Select one person in your past with whom you are still angry and resolve to forgive that person completely for what happened. This act will liberate you emotionally.

By liberating myself emotionally, I can move on in life to more important things and such feelings of animosity will not hold me back.

5. Accept complete responsibility for your financial situation and refuse to blame any financial problems on anyone else. Now, what steps are you going to take to resolve that situation?

Apply for a job after baseball season is over and work that job to receive monetary pay. Time management is one of the habits in this book that could help me organize my work schedule and other things of importance.

6. Accept complete responsibility for your family situation, with each person, and then take immediate action to improve your relationships wherever there may be problems.

By doing so I can improve my family life and like I highlighted in the Action Exercises in Chapter 1, my family life may work towards being more ideal.

7. Accept 100 percent responsibility for your health. Resolve today to do or stop doing whatever is necessary for you to attain excellent all-around health.

I already take full responsibility for my personal health. I am the one who chooses to eat what I eat, how much I eat, and when I eat it. I also choose how I exercise, when I exercise, and what exercises I do. I take full responsibility and by doing so, I don’t owe anyone a thing but myself. Only person I owe anything to is Jesus Christ and to Him, I owe my life.

Leave a Reply

