Chapter 6: Self-Discipline & Courage

“Courage is not absence of fear; it is control of fear, mastery of fear.”

-Mark Twain

1. Identify your three biggest fears in life, right now. What are they?

(1) Losing people that I love and deeply care about. (2) Failing at one of my life goals. (3) That I may be forced to choose a career that I am really not interested in.

2. Determine what you would do in each of these situations you were guaranteed of complete success. What actions would you take?

(1) Well if I lost a relationship or bond with someone, I would desperately try to keep it alive but if they are called by the Lord then I will of course miss them but be happy for them that they found the highest level of love and peace. (2) I want to accomplish all of what God has in store for my life, so I would pray on it, ask God what is that he has called me to do and then pursue that to the best of my ability. (3) I should try to open up my mind to new and different possibilities and try new things and different fields of interest.

3. What have you always wanted to do but been afraid to attempt? What would you do differently if you were guaranteed success?

Skydiving. I am not old enough to try it without a parent’s signature so when I reach that benchmark I might try to divulge in it.

4. In what three areas of life and work do you most experience the fears of failure and loss? What steps could you take immediately to confront and eliminate those fears?

School, sports, and everyday living. The way to get rid of control your fears is to deal with them directly and have courage.

5. In what three areas of life do you most experience the fears of criticism, rejection, or embarrassment? How could you confront these fears and overcome them?

School, your peers, and jobs. You should confront your fears head on and challenge them. If you don’t, then how will you know if you could have overcome them or not.

6. What one great goal would you set for yourself if you knew you could not fail?

I would become the greatest baseball player that ever lived.

7. What would you do differently in life if you had $20 million in the bank, but only ten years to live?

I would certainly enjoy my ten years but most importantly take care of my family and make sure they are well off before I pass on.

Leave a Reply

