Chapter 15: Self-Discipline & Happiness

“No horse gets anywhere until he is harnessed. No stream or gas drives anything until it is confined. No Niagara is ever turned into light and power until it is tunneled. No life ever grows great until it is focused, dedicated, disciplined.”

-Harry Emerson Fosdick

1. Identify the areas of your life in which you feel the happiest and the most in control. How could you expand them?

Hanging out with my friends, playing baseball and football, and spending time with my family.

2. Identify the areas of your life in which you feel controlled by other people or factors. What could you do to resolve these situations?

Driving in traffic in a sense controls you, you must obey and follow the rules and regulations of the road. You must stop at stop signs and red lights, you must yield, turn, slow down, speed up, etc. Whatever the rules are, you must do so for your and other people’s safety.

3. Identify those areas in your life in which there is a gap between your current levels of accomplishment and what you would really like to achieve. What could you do to bridge these gaps?

In academics I am a very good student but I am not the best but I would love to be. I could work harder and smarter to build the bridge over the gaps that are between me and my friendly rival classmates.

4. Identify the most pressing needs you have today that are not being fulfilled. How could you begin to satisfy these deficiency needs?

I really need to start a graduation invitation list. I could apply the already learned habit of time management and set aside an appropriate time to think hard about the family, friends, and friends of the family that I would like to invite.

5. Identify those activities that give you the greatest feeling of personal happiness, your “peak experiences” in life. What could you do to increase these moments of happiness.

I have probably been the most happiest in life when I am on the field. I love sports and the feeling of making a tackle or a sack or hitting a homerun or throwing a no hitter is the greatest feeling I have ever experienced in my life.

6. Identify those areas in life in which you feel the most discontented. What steps could you take immediately to resolve these feelings of discontent?

I have felt the most discontented in the times of failure whether that be athletically or academically. Steps I could take to resolve these feelings are to try to see the “silver lining” and lookin toward the future and be optimistic.

7. Define “happiness” for yourself. What does it mean? What would have to happen for you to feel truly happy? What could you do immediately to create this situation?

Happiness to me is the personal excitement that you have with in yourself. When you are happy, negative vibes cannot bring you down. Several situations could happen: athletic achievements, academic achievements, fun events etc.

Leave a Reply

