Chapter 20: Self-Discipline & Friendship

“Everything you want in life has a price connected to it. There is a price to pay if you want to make things better, a price to pay for leaving things as they are, a price for everything.”

-Harry Browne

1. Make a list of the most important friends in your work and personal life. What could you do to make them feel better about themselves?

My whole senior class. I could offer to do a nice gesture for them or I could offer words of encouragement to them and be kind to them.

2. Identify the first thing you could do in every meeting or encounter to make the other person feel important.

I could greet them with elation and state something such as, “Hi, it is great to see you. How are you?”.  By doing this, you show interest in the other person instead of in your own self.

3. Resolve to make each person feel more valuable and worthwhile because he or she spoke to you.

4. Practice nonjudgementalism in all your relationships. Always assume the best of intention on the part of others.

5. Imagine that each person you meet has only a short time to live and you are the only person who knows.

I would be devastated to be aware of such news, but I would feel special to that person, and I would try to make their little time left the best time that I possibly can.

6. Find something about each person that is impressive to you, and the  tell the other person how impressed you are.

Each person in my senior class is about to graduate, and we are all going to split up pretty soon. I could tell them things that I think are impressive about them and offer those words of encouragement to them so that they can reflect on them and remember that I always respected them.

7. Imagine that there is a hidden camera and microphone recording every interaction you have with other people. How would you behave differently?

I would try to be nicer and obviously try to look my best (haha). But honesty is the best way to go about things, so what you see is what you get and what you hear is who I am.

Leave a Reply

